For the contact that refuses a text message


Opting recipients out of future texts is one of a message sender's most important jobs in ThruText. Failure to opt contacts out can lead to legal consequences and significant fines. There are two key things you need to know about opt-outs:

  • Opt outs are final. Once you opt someone out, they won't receive another text message from your organization through ThruText. If you opt out a contact in error, please get in touch with your organization's texting administrators to remove the contact's opt-out status. 
  • Opt outs do not happen automatically in all texting campaigns. Texters need to recognize that a recipient wants to be taken off an organization's texting list and then manually opt them out. 


How do you decide to Opt Out?  

If someone wants to be taken off your organization's texting list, they tend to say so directly, e.g., "Take me off your list," or "Please stop texting me." It is important to acknowledge their concern and let them know you are opting them out, as once someone has opted out, they can't receive another message. 


If you are ever unsure whether someone wants to be removed, just ask like this:

opt out message

Starting an Opt Out

Once you're sure someone wants to be opted out, click the "Opt Out" button located in the Top Bar above your conversation window.

OptOut2.png

Completing an Opt Out

Once you click the "Opt Out" button, you'll be asked if you are sure you want to opt the message recipient out. To confirm, make sure to click the "Opt Out" button on the pop-up message:

Opt out button

Once opted out, the person will receive a message confirming they have been removed from the texting lists in your organization's ThruText account.


Please review Provider Specific Opt Out Behavior for more information on how each phone number provider handles opt out requests.