Users get added to your ThruText account by invitations, either through email invitations or the permanent invitation link. Either way, the invitation system allows users to control the information in their profile, so they can update their email, phone numbers, or passwords without help from Admins.
You have a two options for how to generate invitations: either by manually entering in email addresses or uploading a CSV.
Once you've selected your invitation, you'll need to select a role for the invitees. Note that if you are inviting multiple users at once, they will all carry the same role.
Email invitations will generate an email to all invitees giving them a link to click on to begin the account set up process. The email will have the subject line Invitation and will look like this:
Permanent Invitation Link
You can send your permanent invitation link to new users to get them started. To set up your organization's permanent invitation link, you will first want to send a request into email@example.com to enable it on your account. You can then access it by clicking the Invitations button in the upper right corner of the main Users page.
Note: the permanent invitation link can only be used to add message senders, not admins or moderators.
Once on the invitations page, you'll find the permanent invitations link in the upper lefthand corner
When a user clicks on the permanent invitation link, they'll be taken through the invitation acceptance flow, which is described in the "Accepting Invitations" section below.
Accepting invitations is a two step process and differs for users who are new to the ThruText system vs. those who already have a ThruText account.
Notes on Shared Computers
Some ThruText clients use shared computers to send text messages, for example at in-person "text-a-thons." When using shared computers, make sure to log previous users out of ThruText, clear browsing data, or open new browser windows in "incognito mode." Failure to do so may cause confusion when inviting new users. If you invite a new user to ThruText but a previous user is already logged in, you will skip the profile creation step and see the "accept the invitation" screen indicated above, which will make the new user think they are ready to text when in fact they have yet to set up their account.